so i’m famous… kinda

I have an amazing friend, Matthew. Matthew is a kick ass journalist who, just over 4 years ago helped me to secure my new job at a major corporate, by helping me with my lost Matric information. For this, I am eternally grateful.

On Tuesday, I was able to repay the favour, by telling him my story for his story, thus far. Guys, it made it onto the front page of The Times! *insert shocked emoji here*

A while back I wrote a post about who I was, who I was becoming. Whilst not much has changed from that blog post to today, I am still proud to be fighting the fight, to not have thrown in the towel. To still be here.

All I have ever wanted is to be a strong role model for my children, to teach them right from wrong, to provide for them in the best possible way that I can. By having just an excerpt of my life out there, it has allowed so many others to take a step back and say ok, we’re not alone. We’re not failures. Just because we’re struggling financially and are maybe working more than 1 job to keep the bills paid, does not make a person a failure. If we gave up, if I gave up, then I would be a failure.

So, for those of you that haven’t read Matthew’s team’s article, here it is.

I’m damn proud of myself for sticking it to the man, and for slogging it out every day. You reap what you sow, and I want to sow determination, loyalty, hard-work and happiness.

I think I’ll get there. I think we’ll get there.

Keep fighting the good fight.

G

One thought on “so i’m famous… kinda

Leave a Reply

