who’s being strong for me?

Depression is a strange thing. One day, one moment, you’re feeling calm and at peace, so sure of life, so sure of your future and the promise it may bring. The very next moment, the very next second, your world seems to cave in on you, and you can’t breathe, you can’t see tomorrow, and you simply don’t know what to do. You are paralyzed by fear.

I’m often told that I’m a strong person. I’m a mom, a wife, a daughter, a sister, a friend. I have a lot of people counting on me, relying on me. I simply don’t have a choice to be anything but strong. But what depression does, is come along and isolate you, and make you feel so alone, so scared, so silent, that you don’t want to be strong anymore, because you can’t see the strength around you. You don’t see who is in turn being strong for you.

I’ve been feeling very overwhelmed lately; finances, my kids, the husband, work, life. I think I’ve been managing it, but I can feel this gnawing at my insides, the self-doubt lingering, the fear limiting my happiness. It’s awful. There is just so much going on all at once, and my brain is just really battling to organise it all, to put each item into its respective slot. And it’s making me sick. And I don’t like it.

My heart is physically aching right now, and I can’t tell you why. But I don’t know if it’s because of what is going on in my life, or if there is an underlying issue. All I know is that for the past week or so, I have not been feeling myself (get your mind out of the gutter – sorry, couldn’t resist!). And not my normal stress and anxiety, but simply unwell. Tight chest, fuzzy head, and just this feeling of sickness. The days seem to be running away from me, and I’m losing track. How did my life get to this point?! Have I finally reached my breaking point, am I now burning out? Have I pushed myself too far to provide for my family, to be the happy-go-lucky woman that so many know me to be?

I don’t know. I just don’t know.

I just know that I’m tired, and that I need to rest, and soon.

I wish I could see who was being strong for me, and believe it. With all my heart, I do.

G

3 thoughts on “who’s being strong for me?

  1. I totally get this, and wish I had an answer for you. To be honest, too many times in the past few years I’ve turned to a bottle looking for strength. I didn’t find it there, but it temporarily made me forget I needed it. Sigh…

    Hang in there!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Well, my shrink says I should not mix my anti-depressants with alcohol… I have a bottle of wine that’s been in my fridge for over a week now and it’s calling my name! Just taking it one day at a time, as we all do. Thanks my friend x

      Like

      1. No, mixing the two is not a good idea. The problem is, often times I just don’t care. Sounds like you have better judgement than me. 😉

        Like

Leave a Reply

