the fate of the furious {review}

Dame Helen Mirren is not one you would normally associate with a movie franchise such as The Fast and The Furious. But hot-damn! She nailed her role so perfectly as the mama bear in FF8, that even I was a little scared of her! Oops… Maybe you didn’t know she was in it. Well now you do!

Image courtesy of Google

My mom won tickets through MNet Movies to watch the pre-screening of FF8 at Gateway IMAX last night. And man oh man, it did not disappoint. Well, it kinda did. But mostly it didn’t…

Family, Dominic Toretto’s core value is at the heart of this movie. And it had me gripped onto my seat at every second. Whilst there weren’t as many car scenes as in previous FF movies, the action was non-stop. I personally found the acting between Hobbs and Shaw a bit forced, like they were trying too hard.

Image courtesy of Google

And I know that Jason Statham is a Brit, and he’s gorgeous and I love pretty much anything he acts in, but his accent seemed a bit forced… I dunno. I found him to be more badass in FF7. BUT, having said that, he was AMAZING in the last few scenes of the movie… Family people, that’s all I’m going to say.

Charlize Theron, our South African export. Well she’s just pure evil. You thought she played the baddie in Monster well… She outdid herself in FF8. Her character is one of the most evil, conniving and heartless I’ve ever come across. And what her character was capable of, makes me just that much more paranoid about technology, and who exactly is watching us out there. Hashtag, just saying.

Image courtesy of Google

Scott Eastwood was a really great addition to the cast, and I don’t believe that he was placed as Paul Walker’s replacement. I must admit that I didn’t quite understand why he was in the final scene of the movie, as he is the police, or FBI or whatever… But he obviously has a bigger role to play in FF9 etc.

There were some familiar faces as well that popped up in the film, which I thought was absolutely brilliant. Think Brazil, and FF6.

All in all, it was a great movie, loads of action and a great story-line. A lack of continuity here and there, but I really did enjoy it. I would have liked to have seen more car action sequences, but what was in the film was pretty damn awesome. Roman and the orange Lambo. Only Roman. What exactly is his skill again, apart from talking and eating?!

Thanks MNet; can’t wait for the next Night Out!

G

Leave a Reply

