i’m afraid of the dark (and a few other random (and not so random) facts about me)

Last night, at promptly 9pm, our power went out. I sat in my bed in the silent darkness thinking to myself, seriously? Our power goes out NOW? I knew that it wasn’t loadshedding (not even worth explaining) as we weren’t scheduled for that night, and the thought of getting out of bed to phone and report the fault did not excite me. The husband came upstairs to light a couple candles for me, and told me that if I was going to go to sleep that I would need to blow the candles out, that the side lamp would obviously come on when the power did. I distinctly remember my eyeballs getting bigger and vehemently stating no; I would not be blowing out any candle until the power came back on. And then the power did in fact come back on! The husband then semi-lectured me on the dangers of having a candle burning whilst unattended (asleep) and I agreed 100%; but I then stated that I cannot sleep in the dark. And then there was silence.

Yes, at the age of 29 years, I am afraid of the dark. My wildly over-active imagination has me believing that the boogey monster does in fact reside under my bed and is waiting for his opportunity to catch me unawares, and that the branches moving outside my window are some hideously scarred demon trying to get in through the burglar bars to attack me. Basically I don’t like the dark. At all. And the husband knows this.

So my fear of the dark (and the fact that it’s actually quite funny at my age) is what prompted me to think of a few other random facts about myself, that I just know the bloggerverse is dying to know. Yeah, not really hey πŸ˜‰

I have a very quick temper. It’s something that I’ve really been trying to work on, especially with M-L, but unfortunately the husband does take the brunt of my temper most days. But only because he starts it with his moody behaviour πŸ˜‰

I love my bed. Like love my bed. Before having kids, I could and did spend weekends in my bed, rising only to go to the bathroom, get something to eat and to shower. Many a Saturday and Sunday I slept in waaaay past 2pm. God how I miss those days.

I was a bit of a nerd in high school. I even wore glasses. Well I still wear glasses, but anyway. But I saw myself as a cool nerd; I was very sporty, an above average student, went out clubbing, spent most of my lunch breaks in the library, and studied furiously for every test and exam. Well, the studying part only actually happened in my last 2 years of school… Oops πŸ˜‰ But I loved school; the last 3 years of high school were among the happiest that I’d experienced up until that point in my life.

There’s not much that I wouldn’t do for my husband. But shhhh, he doesn’t need to know that.

My ultimate junk food comprises of 3 South African favourites; Cheas Naks, Beacon Nikki Bar and Creme Soda. And that husband knows this very well. Very, VERY well. These 3 items have gotten him out of many a bind πŸ˜‰

As sporty and tomboyish as I am, I LOVE my ghd (God’s gift to hair, I swear) and beautiful high heels. I can get lost for hours trying on shoes that I will most likely never buy, as the shoes I always fall for are about 300 times more that what my budget will allow for. But I still get a thrill trying them on, oohing and aahing in the mirror. Ah shoes… My happy place…

I love to work. I hate to work around the house; I am in fact extremely lazy around the house (don’t tell the husband that I’ve owned up to that) but I love coming to work every day. It does help that my job of the past 2 and a bit years is awesome, has great people and a fantastic atmosphere, but what I’m trying to get at is that I couldn’t be a housewife / stay-at-home mom. I really do take my hat off to the ladies that are. My maternity leave this time around was more enjoyable than with M-L, but I was so happy to go back to work last month! The husband and I have a goal; he stays home with the kids, running his own business and me out in the corporate world. We’ll get there, one day.

I have the most awful memory. Like absolutely shocking. Even I’m embarrassed of the stuff I forget sometimes. Like the countless blog posts that flitted by, without so much as even a hello…

I’m a bit of a mad driver. I believe that I’m a very safe and aware driver, but I’m rather impatient at times, and driving a powerful car certainly helps in those situations. But I ALWAYS use my indicator, even if I’m the only car on the road. ‘Cause I’m polite like that.

There are probably a whole bunch more random (and not so random) facts about me, but honestly, I can’t remember anymore, and my brain is too tired from being up from 02h45 with the twins to even contemplate of thinking of anymore πŸ™‚

G

2 thoughts on “i’m afraid of the dark (and a few other random (and not so random) facts about me)

Leave a Reply

