so what is YOUR blog actually about?

When I started this blog in June 2011, I had decided that it was going to be about me, with some poetry thrown in, thus the original name of “wannabepoet”. 4 years later, I think I’ve written 2 poems (I think) and this blog, whilst still about me, has become mostly about my daughter, and my husband, and my animals, and our lives and just LIFE in general. So yes, still about me, but in a more broader scope of me.

In recent months, or maybe in the last 18 months or so, actually even LONGER than that, my blog has become quite focussed on my daughter. Earlier this year I decided that whilst I was going to to keep the web address of my blog the same (and that was mainly because I was too lazy to go and update all of the places that I had my blog listed – oops) my blog needed a name change, thus it became “the hilarious pessimist”. I really like this name, and it pretty much sums me up. I prefer to think of myself as a realist who has her head in the clouds 90% of the time, but “the hilarious realist” didn’t have the same ring to it!

I attended a digital media conference 2 Tuesday’s ago, and I got chatting to a VERY interesting young man; Siya Khumalo. He has written some VERY influential pieces on his blog but he asked me a rather interesting, if not trivial (to some) question; what is your blog about? I didn’t really know how to answer it, so I said life. My life. He then went and read a few of my posts, and told me that he really liked what I wrote, as it was real life. My real life. I was actually quite chuffed (to the non-South Africa; happy, elated etc) for someone like Siya to say that to me, as I could only dream of having half of the writing talent that he does. I mean his one post has gotten over half a million views, or somewhere in that region. In fact, I think it must be more by now. So to have this really amazing fellow blogger tell me that he liked my blog with no real theme, was pretty darn cool to me 🙂

In the past year or so I have found myself focussing more on quality vs quantity of my posts. Whilst I used to try and blog every day, sometimes more than once a day, nowadays, days and even a couple of weeks can go by in between my posts, and I’m actually ok with that. I still have my fellow awesome bloggers that faithfully return to my blog to either like or comment and that means the absolute world to me, and even though I don’t blog every day, I still visit my blog daily, and have a catch up reading session on what my fellow fantastic bloggers have written.

And so you see, I have once again gone off topic, because now I’m discussing how often I blog, yet the name of this post is… Yup. Story of my life!

So fellow bloggers; what is your blog about? And is what it’s about now, what you had originally intended it to be about? Or is your blog just your place that you can go to, escape to when the world shows you the middle finger?

G

8 thoughts on “so what is YOUR blog actually about?

  1. I wanted my blog to be about things that I wanted to say to my dear friend and what I missed sharing with her and a way to preserve our memories for her children but somehow it became more than that and became my release.

    I simply love reading your posts because you are real.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. scribblegurl says:

    It’s a combination of things…one might say it’s all over the map. But really, it’s about my life and stuff I find interesting. Or annoying. Or awesome. It’s my release and a way to marshal my thoughts. So it’s sort of like therapy…which I actually have a blog about. I guess the real question is, which blog do you mean? 😉 (I have blogs about living in/visiting Paris, therapy, cooking, books, photography, and jewelry(making).)

    Liked by 1 person

    • Oh wow, I didn’t know that you had more than one blog? I think that’s pretty darn cool; I’ve often thought of starting another blog, but it would more than likely end up being exactly what this one is about, and that’s a bit pointless 😉

      And I love what you wrote about your blog being your therapy – i couldn’t agree more 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

