the twin pregnancy

I am currently 23 weeks pregnant. With twins. A boy and a girl. I never once thought that I would be pregnant with twins, and the thought of having 2 little babies at once is quite frankly very freaking scary to me. But, I have a fantastic support system; a husband who is very hands on, a daughter who is beyond excited, my mom who is quite honestly my backbone, and my in-laws, even though one half of them is 700km plus away! I also work for a good company, who has a decent maternity leave benefit.

15 weeks into this pregnancy, I decided to start documenting it with pictures. I didn’t do that with M-L, and it is something that I regret. I only have pictures at 3 stages of my pregnancy with M-L; 13 odd weeks (could have been 16), 22 weeks and 26 or 28, I forget. But by the time that I delivered her, Monday the 26th of October 2009 at 08h33, I was HUGE. People were constantly asking if I was having twins, to which I would blush and state no, just 1 little baby in there! So as much as I detest selfies, every Tuesday (sometimes a Wednesday, just depends on how lazy I’m feeling!) I have been snapping a picture of my belly side on, from week 15. I even got brave at 20 weeks, and took a BARE BELLY picture! This was huge for me, as I haven’t shown my tummy in public since I was about 5 months pregnant with M-L back in 2009, due to the ugly, red, angry stretch marks that appeared all over my belly, from down below, to about 10cm below my bust. I have been very self conscious of them, and cover up as best I can. Let’s just say that my gorgeous black bikini hasn’t seen sunlight in over 5 years πŸ˜‰ This morning I took another bare belly pic, and even though my stretch marks are more noticable than the picture taken at 20 weeks, I don’t really mind. I think that I’m finally at peace with my body. But I’ll get back to you on that one!

So if you haven’t already clicked on over to my Instagram feed (link is on the right of this post) I decided to include the pictures that I’ve taken, from week 15 to week 23. Yes, they have filters on them, but that’s only because Instagram just makes pictures so much prettier! And also, the mirror that I’m currently using for my pictures, is relatively high up on the wall, so I have to stand quite far back, so in the original pictures you can’t really see much! Short people problems…

15 weeks
15 weeks
16 weeks
16 weeks
17 weeks
17 weeks
18 weeks
18 weeks
19 weeks
19 weeks
20 weeks
20 weeks
21 weeks
21 weeks
22 weeks
22 weeks
23 weeks
23 weeks
20 weeks (bare belly)
20 weeks (bare belly)
Week 23 (bare belly)
Week 23 (bare belly)
The difference in 3 weeks!
The difference in 3 weeks!
6 thoughts on “the twin pregnancy

  1. Pingback: the twin pregnancy part 2 | not another mom blog

Leave a Reply

