things my daughter said (and asked) when i told her that i was pregnant

The husband and I told M-L that ‘there is a baby in mommy’s tummy’ on Wednesday the 18th of June.

This blog post was started on Friday, the 20th of June 2014.

Thursday, 19th of June 2014:  “Mommy, is the baby here yet?”  (asked when I fetched M-L from creche)

Thursday, 19th of June 2014:  “Mommy, is the baby going to go to school?” (asked when we got to my mom’s house to drop my sister off)

Friday, 20th of June 2014: “Did daddy and you find out if it’s a girl?” (asked whilst at my mom’s house)

Saturday, 21st of June 2014: “I love the baby” and “When is the baby coming out?”(both asked whilst out at the shops)

Saturday, 21st of June 2014: “Does the baby like it warm, the baby in your tummy ?” (asked when I placed her hot water bottle on my sore tummy that night) and then at her bedtime, when she asked me for her hot water bottle “is the baby warm now?”

Sunday, 22nd of June 2014: “I love you and I love the baby.” (said at about 4am whilst snuggling with me in bed)

Monday, 23rd of June 2014:  “You’re fat, no your tummy is fat because the baby is inside.” (said whilst I was bathing her in the evening)

Monday, 23rd of June 2014:  “Is the baby sleeping in your tummy?” and “when the baby comes out, it wil be 1 years old.  When I came out your tummy I was 1 years old.”  and ” Babies don’t know how to have parties.  They chew the decorations.  They don’t know how to give it to you.”  (all said whilst tucking her into bed)

Sunday, 28th of June 2014:  “It’s already growed, your tummy is fat.” “The baby and I will share it, the baby in your tummy.” “When is the baby out? Awww, I really want it out today!” (all said whilst at the shops after work and school, meandering through the aisles.

On Monday the 14th of July 2014 we found out that there wasn’t just 1 baby in my tummy, but 2! I went and fetched M-L from school that afternoon, and broke the news to her. She looked at me with a little bit of disbelief, put her head against my tummy and said:

“I really hope I get a brother AND a sister.”

Oh my poppet, you make my heart so full, I sometimes worry that there won’t be space for 2 more little people. Your excitement and pure joy at the fact that you are getting 2 siblings, and ironically enough a brother and a sister, is just further fact that this was just meant to be.

G

7 thoughts on “things my daughter said (and asked) when i told her that i was pregnant

Leave a Reply

