things not to say to me during my pregnancy

Pre warning; I am in an exceptionally bad mood. I have been for the past 2 days. And a lot of my anger and frustration is from the irritatingly annoying comments and questions that have been said to me regarding my pregnancy.

For those of you living under a rock, I’m pregnant. With twins. I am currently 19 weeks along (almost 5 months) but look closer to 6 and a bit months.

When I announced that I was pregnant back in June, my colleagues were thrilled for me, and it was great. Then in July, we found out that it was twins. And that’s when this all actually started.

“If you don’t want one, you can always give one to me!”
“Are you eating? You must eat for your twins.”
“Have you eaten today? Your twins need food you know.”
“How are the twins today?”

And the ultimate question:

“How are my babies doing today?”

Ok, the sarcasm is so strong with me today, but I’ve been holding back as I really don’t want to lose my job.

What is currently going on in my head:

If I don’t want one? Really? – I actually have no comeback for this one; at least 4 women (and 2 men) in my office said this to me. WTF.

Am I eating? No, I am intentionally on diet because you know, losing weight is every pregnant woman’s goal. Dumbass.

If I don’t know by now that the twins need food and are relying on me as their source of nourishment, then I don’t deserve kids. And who the hell are you? You are my colleague; you have no say WHATSOEVER in my pregnancy.

I’m so sorry, but I don’t have a crystal ball, and my tummy isn’t see-through, so I honestly don’t know how the twins are today.

Your babies? YOUR babies? Last time I checked, I was the one pregnant with MY babies. At least 4 women at my work refer to the twins as THEIR babies, and it is taking every ounce of strength that I have to not punch them in their faces. Violence is never the answer I know, but damn!

And then today, after lunch, I was clearing my plate (I had a little left over salad that I didn’t feel like eating) when one of my colleagues, a MALE, told me not to waste my food as my babies needed it. I stood up, and asked him how he knew that my babies needed the 4 strips of shredded lettuce, and 2 tomato 1/4’s? He just looked at me, and I then had a little laugh to break the tension.

If people were chatting to me every now and then about the pregnancy and the twins etc, then I don’t think that I would be so sensitive about it. But it is EVERY SINGLE DAY. And more than once, EVERY SINGLE DAY.

I do understand that my colleagues are excited and happy for me, but this is MY pregnancy. They have no say in it whatsoever, and some of them really need to learn to back the hell off. I know that I could also be a little more sensitive than normal due to the double dose of pregnancy hormones running through my veins right now, but enough.

I am not a side show at the circus; I am pregnant with twins and I have a lot more going on in my life right now besides this pregnancy.

All I’m asking for is a little space and respect regarding this situation.

That’s not a lot to ask, is it?

G

6 thoughts on “things not to say to me during my pregnancy

Leave a Reply

