i’m a big girl mom

M-L is turning 5 next month. 5 people. I haven’t even begun to plan her birthday party, which for the past 4 years, has always been planned by this stage in the year. The main reason for this is that the venue that we’ve had her party at previously closed down in January, and I’m absolutely stuck as to where to have it this year. But M-L’s birthday and party are not what this post is about.

Yesterday I was running a wee bit late for work. Nothing unusual really, but I was concerned that I just might walk through the door after 8am. As I was driving into M-L’s school she told me that she’ll go into school alone. I asked her if she was sure, and she said yes, she wanted to. As I was in a rush, I didn’t think much of it, gave her a kiss and a hug, and off she went. This morning however, it was a slightly different story.

As we drove down the driveway to her school, she prompty turned to look at me and said that she’d go into school by herself again this morning. I looked at her quizzically and asked her if she was sure, and I told her that I really wanted to walk her into school. To which she responded

“It’s ok mommy. I’m a big girl now; I can go to school by myself.”

Well I didn’t have a comeback for that. I silently unbuckled her safety belt and unlocked the car doors, and she opened her door, hopped out and grabbed her back, looked back and gave me a little wave, with a “see you later mom, have a good day!” and off she went. She didn’t even look back.

My greatest wish is that I’m able to raise my children to be independant, self-reliant people, but sheesh! Starting a bit young don’t you think?! What happened this morning has been playing on my mind the whole day, and I know that when I fetch her this afternoon, that I won’t have to go inside to fetch her, as she will come out to me, bag in hand, ready to jibber jabber about her day in the car to me.

I’m so proud of the fact that she’s growing up so well (I’m obviously doing something right then – phew!) but if only she could stay my little princess for as long as possible… I think that’s every parents wish really.

Grow up slowly my angel, enjoy your childhood. Be a little girl, be a princess, be a tomboy and have no cares.

I love you.

Mommy

4 thoughts on “i’m a big girl mom

Leave a Reply

