double trouble

I consider myself a blessed woman.  I have a roof over my head, a loving husband (most days) a gorgeous daughter whom I love with everything that I am, and a wonderful, supportive family.

Funny thing, family.  Especially on the genes side of things.

We always knew it was a possibility.  It has happened on both the husband’s side of the family, and mine.  The chances were high.  But until I saw those 2 little heartbeats yesterday, I honestly never thought it would happen to me.

Double trouble is on the way!
Double trouble is on the way!

Twins, arriving end Feb, 2015.

I’m going to go and sit in the corner for the rest of the day.

G

11 thoughts on “double trouble

      1. Twindaddy

        Yeah, it seems intimidating at first, but once you’re there, taking care of them, it’s really not bad at all.

        Like

  1. Cheney

    wow, I am in awe, totally unexpected. How high is the ‘twin’ gene between you and Hubby? There is a serious possibility for Lloyd and I too, my mom’s had twins, and Lloyd’s mother is a twin. I think my brother and sister were fraternal and the same with Lloyd’s mom and uncle.

    Like

    1. We always knew that it was a possibility, as my mom was a twin but he died in the womb, and Lee’s brother and sister down in PE are fraternal twins. It generally always skips a generation, so technically, on my mom’s side the ‘risk’ was high. M-L has a high possibility of also having twins, because her aunt and uncle are twins! If I understand the twin gene in your family, it should technically miss you on your mom’s side, but on Lloyd’s side there is a possibility. Then your kids would also be at ‘risk’ for multiples!

      Insanity right?!

      Brother and sister twins are always fraternal, as they would have developed in their own amniotic sacs. It’s when the egg splits once fertilised, that the twins will be identical, as they will share the same amniotic sac and genes! Even if we have 2 boys or 2 girls, they will be genetically different, and not identical. Which for me is a relief, because if they were identical I’d make them wear name badges from birth!

      Like

  2. Pingback: to my unborn babies | the hilarious pessimist

  3. Pingback: things my daughter said (and asked) when i told her that i was pregnant | the hilarious pessimist

Leave a Reply

