timeless: the land before time

If anyone out there hasn’t seen The Land Before Time (1988) wtf?! I watched it again today with my daughter, who apart from covering her eyes when ‘Sharptooth’ was around, absolutely loved it.

Yes, the animation is ‘bad’ compared to today’s animation, but it is still an amazingly stunning film.    I was 2 years old when this movie was released, and today, 26 years after its release I still love it. Ironically enough, the theme song of The Land Before Time ‘If We Hold On Together’ was also my primary school song (1992-1998).To this day I still get goosebumps when I hear it, and even more so when I sing it. It is an incredible song, with such poignant meaning behind it.

The meaning behind the song is even more poignant for me, as I quite by accident (and quite shockingly) discovered that Judith Barsi, the little girl who voiced ‘Ducky’ in the film, was brutally and unconscionably murdered by her father in 1988.  The Land Before Time was released after her death, and this song for me, will from this day remind me of this incredibly talented young girl, whose short life was ended far too soon.

G

5 thoughts on “timeless: the land before time

Leave a Reply

