paying it forward

A few weeks ago, I ran out of petrol. It was awful. It was humiliating. I was stuck. Thanks to the kindness of a total stranger (and my wonderful brother) I was able to get back on the road.

I believe in paying it forward.

Picture credit - www.hereisthecity.com
Picture credit – http://www.hereisthecity.com
This morning, after I had dropped my daughter at creche, and my sister at work, I drove past a young woman and an elderly man standing outside their car, hazards lights flashing on the side of the road. I gazed back at them through my rear view mirror as I drove down the hill, and then remembered how awful it was when I broke down. I drove down the hill and did a u-turn, and promptly drove right back up the hill. I put my hazards on about 100m before I reached them, and I could honestly see the relief in this young girl’s face when I stopped behind her. I stuck my head out of my window and asked if she was ok.

“I’ve run out of petrol and I left my cellphone at home. You’re the first person that’s stopped, and I’ve been standing here for 10 minutes.”

I actually almost started crying. I told her to get into my car, and I drove her to the closest petrol station. She luckily had a container with her; I wasn’t so lucky! When I dropped her off, both her and her grandfather were so relieved and happy and grateful, and I’m really, REALLY happy that I got to be a part of it.

I believe that what you put out, you get back.

So don’t pay it back.

Pay it forward.

G

9 thoughts on “paying it forward

    1. Thanks hun, but I was merely keeping the karma wheel turning. Hopefully from my good deed, comes a good deed from that young lady, and also her grandfather.

      Paying it forward could save the world man! 😉

      Like

Leave a Reply

