so it happened

My birthday that is. And even though I openly admit that I don’t really care much for my birthday, this year, it kinda rocked πŸ™‚

I woke up yesterday morning and as I hopped into the bath, the smell of French toast made its way through to the bathroom. French toast is my absolute favourite breakfast, smothered in maple syrup. As I made my way through to the lounge, my hubby had setup a side table with a tablecloth, my breakfast and coffee, as well as my adorable birthday card. My adorable birthday card so full of spelling errors, that it made it even more adorable. My hubby then apologised for not getting me anything for my birthday. I responded to that by telling him that he’s pretty much winning on the birthday front, seeing as what did I get him for his birthday? Oh yes. A night in hospital.

So after my breakfast and a nice hot cuppa, I dropped M-L at creche, and made my way through to the doctors in Hillcrest, where I then got my stitches out. HALLELUJAH! Almost instant relief. Plus, I can scratch my hand now without too much pain from the stitches – yay! I then made my way through to my mom’s house, to fetch my birthday cake that my sister had made me. I had told my sister 2 weeks ago that I didn’t really care what she made me, as long as it was a red velvet cake, and that it must be so awesome, that everyone must focus on the cake, and not on me.

Mission. Accomplished.

There were 47 macaroons on and around my cake!
There were 47 macaroons on and around my cake!
When my mom and sister opened up the cake box, I was awestruck, dumbfounded and completely taken by surprise at how talented my sister actually is. The fact that she gave me an essay of a personally hand-made card also didn’t help the situation, and the 2 of us stood there, with the raw emotion sitting in our eyes, and happy thank-you’s being said from both of us. My brother then gave me the complete opposite of a card, about real boobs vs fake boobs which also just made my morning πŸ™‚ I got to work, and the birthday love just continued. From e-mails to colleagues hugging and wishing me, to my BBM going off, to my Facebook and Twitter going off non-stop and of course the phonecalls, it was pretty darn awesome πŸ™‚ And yes, the cake tasted just as good as it looked!

I then went and had my nails done last night (another gift from my sister) but as Murphy would have it, the power went out as I got to the appointment, so instead of a gel overlay, we ended up drinking wine and I had my nails done by torchlight! (I’m going back next week for a freebie – yay me!)

But the real haha heehee happened about an hour ago, when I phoned my mom to tell her that it was most likely going to rain tomorrow… Conversation went something like this:

Me: “It looks like it’ll be raining tomorrow, so I don’t think that we’ll be able to go to the market. Let me check Windguru quickly. I really don’t want to be walking around in the rain and mud.”

Mom: “Oh ja hey. But it’s ok, because I NEED to go to the market.”

Me: “What? Why do you NEED to go to the market?!”

Silence.

Mom: “I just NEED to go.”

Side note – my mom rises at about 12h00 on most Saturday’s and Sunday’s, so the fact that I didn’t question the 08h00 market time tomorrow morning, is my own stupid fault.

Me: “Mom. Why do you NEED to go to the market.” It was at this point that I started giggling.

Mom (now also giggling): “I just NEED to go.”

We then giggled for about 1min or so, as I kept trying to ask why she NEEDED to go, and she kept saying things like

“Because Y’s a crooked letter and you can’t make it straight”

and

“I am your mother; your argument is invalid”

So short story short, it has something to do with a birthday present that I have once again spoiled the surprise on, without intentionally doing so. So I don’t know what the present is (according to my husband it’s awesome – no I’m not talking to him either) but I know that I am getting a present tomorrow morning.

I don’t know how I do it, and I don’t know why I do it. Maybe it’s the universe’s way of helping me out with my ‘surprise issue’, I dunno. But I always (well mostly always) ended up figuring out a surprise, or guessing something, or working it out even when I don’t mean to! So according to my mom I’m a ‘nana’ (pronounced narna – as in banana, but nana) but I don’t really care.

‘Cause I’m getting an awesome birthday present tomorrow morning!

G

7 thoughts on “so it happened

  1. Awww, This is so sweet. And The cake is out of this world !!! Just wow. I bet it taste just as good as it looks.
    Happy Belated Birthdaayyy, I would have said ‘Have A Blast’. But I know you already did πŸ™‚

    Like

    1. Thanks so much πŸ™‚ I normally keep my birthday very quiet, but this year my family pretty much ensured that it wasn’t, but in a good way πŸ™‚

      The cake was AH-MAAAAY-ZING!!!

      Like

      1. Haha, Well that’s what families are for, Doing what you don’t want to do, in a good way of course !

        Hell yeah, I bet it was! And Do inform what the surprise present was, Now I have butterflies in my stomach as well ! πŸ˜€

        Like

  2. Pingback: spoilt | the hilarious pessimist

Leave a Reply

