a new diagnosis

So the hubby had his check-up yesterday. It didn’t go as well as we were hoping for, but he does have a difficult condition to treat and manage. His neurologist has also changed his initial diagnosis from Trigeminal Neuralgia, to SUNCT. SUNCT is an acronym for Short-lasting Unilateral Neuralgiform headache attacks with Conjunctival injection and Tearing. Try saying that 5 times over…

It is unfortunately a slightly worse diagnosis than the Trigeminal Neuralgia; I’ve found some interesting articles, here, here and here. They all say pretty much the same thing, but are written differently so if you don’t understand one article, hopefully you’ll understand the others. He’s also had a change in medication, as the medication he was on was causing him to be quite depressed and very demotivated. Hopefully this new medication helps.

Other than that, I don’t have much else to report; my wrist is on the mend which is a good thing. I have more movement in it 1 week after the op last Friday, than what I did after the first op back in 2011! It’s still quite sore, and I do keep forgetting that I have stitches, and it’s only when I pick up something heavy, or twist my wrist at a funny angle do I suddenly remember that I had surgery a week ago, and that’s due to the pain shooting through my hand and arm. It doesn’t help that I’m on quite strong painkillers that make me very mellow and relaxed… I forgot my painkillers at home yesterday, so when I got home, I took the whole days worth. 8 Myprodol and 2 Lyrica later, I was in a VERY good place. I apparently fell asleep, sitting upright on my couch, whilst playing Hay Day on my iPad.

It was a good trip.

G

2 thoughts on “a new diagnosis

  1. Pingback: well that was a crazy morning… | the hilarious pessimist

Leave a Reply

