23 things to do now or your life will be over if you’re over 23

10-Jan-2014 – Since posting this, I have realised that I have also generalised, and that some of the girl’s ideas and comments are good. Marriage at 23 (or younger) is not for everyone. Some people suit exploration far better than settling down at that age. So instead of getting engaged or married so young, if you want to travel and explore and find out who YOU are, then go for it! Marriage at 23 just happened to suit me. Well most days, anyway πŸ˜‰

So I’ve come across this post that went viral a few days ago. Really?. Wow. Sorry, but when I read these words, all I think to myself is what a selfish, self-absorbed, little girl. Nothing against the ‘millenials’ or whatever she called the youth of today, but you really are from that generation, aren’t you. I’m quite happy that I was an 80’s baby; I at least know what respect, manners and dignity are. You can read the post for yourself and make up your own opinion, but after reading this response, I am inspired to write my own response to “23 things to do instead of getting engaged before you’re 23”.

1. Get a passport.

– Done. Still yet to use it. Not exactly a life changing event for me. Next.

2. Find your β€œthing.”

– Done. Found it at the age of 10; road running. Lost it for a bit, but found it again last year. Next.

3. Make out with a stranger.

– Done. Waaaay before I was 23. Next.

4. Adopt a pet.

– Done. Several times. (are these ‘instructions’ for real?!- Hopefully this girl adopts a pet AFTER she’s travelled the world with the passport that she instructed everyone to get in ‘instruction’ #1.)

5. Start a band.

– Not done. Yes I can sing, but pursuing a career or hobby in music has never been something I’ve wanted to do. Next.

6. Make a cake. Make a second cake. Have your cake and eat it too.

– Done. I even ate the burnt cake. Next.

7. Get a tattoo. It’s more permanent than a marriage.

– Done. 1 before I was 23, 3 after I was 23. More being planned. Next.

8. Explore a new religion.

– Done. Religion doesn’t do it for me. Next.

9. Start a small business.

– Done, believe it or not! It didn’t last very long, but it did happen! Next.

10.Cut your hair.

– Done. And yes, I did it myself! Twice! This doesn’t include the numerous visits to the hairdresser. (again, are these ‘instructions to life’ for real?!)

11. Date two people at once and see how long it takes to blow up in your face.

– Done. No I’m not proud of it, but damn did I enjoy it πŸ˜‰ Next.

12. Build something with your hands.

– Done. Did this chick even go to school?! Next.

13. Accomplish a Pinterest project.

– Not done. I’m not creative that way, even with a set of instructions. Not a priority in my life. Next.

14. Join the Peace Corps.

– Not done. And never going to be done. I’d rather support my local charity or orphanage than something not even started in my own country. Next.

15. Disappoint your parents.

– Done. Getting caught with a boy when I said I was with a friend (age 16) and falling pregnant (age 17). Mother Nature sorted things out with the latter. Next.

16. Watch GIRLS, over and over again.

– Not done. No idea what ‘GIRLS’ is, so obviously not important to me. Next.

17. Eat a jar of Nutella in one sitting.

– Not done. I don’t enjoy the feeling of immense nausea, not do I cherish the thought of diabetes. Next.

18. Make strangers feel uncomfortable in public places.

– Done. Ah, my wild teenage years… Next.

19. Sign up for CrossFit.

– Not done. I work out 5-6 times a week, busy training for my first ultra marathon, 89.9km of pure torture. CrossFit? Next.

20. Hangout naked in front of a window.

– Not done. I don’t think. Next.

21. Write your feelings down in a blog.

– Done. I think strangers know more about me than my own family. Next.

22. Be selfish.

– Done. And hated it. It’s not who I am. Next.

23. Come with me to the Philippines for Chinese New Year.

– Never going to happen. Explanation below.

I have known my now husband since I was 17, got engaged to him when I was 21, fell pregnant with our child at 22, and married him at 23. If I had the opportunity to travel to the Philippines for their Chinese New Year, you honey would be the last person on my ticket list.

Apart from ‘instruction’ 21, the rest of the DONE ‘instructions’ were done before I was 23. And I know that this girl was generalising, but marrying my husband at the age of 23, after being engaged and having a baby was not a cop out for me. I am stronger because we are together. I would have crumbled years ago if he wasn’t there to support me and help me up when I’ve stumbled.

Again, is this girl for real? And oh my gosh…

I was married by the time I was 23. Oh my God. My life is over.

Not.

G

3 thoughts on “23 things to do now or your life will be over if you’re over 23

  1. I got married when I was 22. I shouldn’t have done it. Her list of things to do instead is stupid, but I agree with her that most people aren’t finished growing up by that age. I’m glad it worked out for you, but it was a disaster for me, besides getting the twins out of it.

    Like

    1. Yeah, I think I need to clarify on my post. It does work for some, not for others. But have a realistic list, an exciting list. Hers was stupid! I’d say the twins were a pretty good thing hey πŸ˜‰

      Like

Leave a Reply

