the obligatory year end post

Yes I’m still around. Me not blogging in a while is what happens when I go on leave and don’t have access to my own pc ie: work internet get stuck doing housework and being a housewife and preparing Christmas lunch and celebrating baby brother’s 21st birthday and fighting 2nd hand car dealerships. I need leave to recover from my 2 weeks leave. I only had 2-ish days to myself; Thursday the 19th (lunch with the bestie), Friday the 27th (lunch and play date with M-L’s ‘boyfriend’ and his mom) and yesterday when my husband told me to take a relax day. I only actually sat down and chilled in front of the tv at about 15h00. So yeah… All in all, 2013 has not been my most favourite year, but it hasn’t been my worst either. But I honestly don’t have much positive to say about the year 2013.

I started my new job at the end of January this year, so that’s a positive. Decent hours, reasonable pay, benefits etc. For me, making a huge change like starting a new job is a big step. I hate change. I hate change like a jug of milk hates the sunlight. But if I didn’t make the change, and chose to stay in my routine, I would only have myself to blame. So that decision (job wise) I’m 100% happy with.

No, I’m not going to list every single good and bad thing that’s happened to me, because (a) I don’t really remember much of 2013, and (b) I don’t really remember much of 2013. Also, it would be totally tasteless and boring to rehash the year that was (almost). This last month and a bit has been pretty tough, what with being screwed over by a 2nd hand car dealership, liaising with an attorney, and wondering what the *beep* we were going to do about our car situation. It didn’t help that it was right around Christmas, and I didn’t want this awful situation to affect the Christmas that my daughter deserved. Well, let me just say that there really are guardian angels out there. Good, decent people. The car dealership that we have now bought our ‘new’ 2nd hand vehicle from, gifted my daughter a 1k gift voucher to 1 of the major retailers, ensuring that she had the most wonderful Christmas ever. My husband worked his sexy tight ass off, and also ensured that M-L had a fantastic Christmas. I cannot even explain how spoilt she was, and I don’t have to. The amount of presents and love that she was showered with took every ounce of sadness away, even if it was only for a few hours.

I am not going to lie; this year has seen me fall into a dark place, a few times. There was a time when I seriously considered throwing in the towel. And no, I don’t mean run away. I mean remove myself from the situation completely. But then I realised how God damned selfish that would be, picked myself up, slapped my face and pulled myself towards myself. No, I don’t have it all figured out. No, I have no idea how we’re making the monthly payments for our new car. But my daughter and husband love me, and I love them. I am certainly ending this year a hell of a lot happier than how I started it.

2014 is already off to a good start; I got into work this morning and as I sat gaping in sheer dispair at the 88 e-mails that I had to go through, 1 of those e-mails made my year. My application to study via work assisted studies in 2014 has been approved! I may not have been able to study right out of school, but I am taking full advantage of it now, and nothing will hold me back!

So 2013, thanks for the life lessons, the kicks up the butt and the wtf moments. But I am happily bidding you adieu; watch the door doesn’t hit you on the way out! Actually, let it – that will totally make my year! šŸ˜‰

Have a fantastic and safe New Year’s Eve everybody! ‘See’ you in 2014 šŸ˜€

G

One thought on “the obligatory year end post

Leave a Reply

