hamba kahle madiba (go well madiba)

I don’t have any profound words, and I didn’t know Nelson Rolihlahla Mandela personally. But I know that when I woke up this morning to the news that he had passed away last night, my heart felt heavy, and my shoulders slumped.

Nelson Mandela, Madiba as he was affectionately known truly was the Father of our Nation. He taught South Africans that it’s ok to be wronged against, and to then forgive those who have wronged against you. He taught us that instead of allowing bitterness and hate to consume us, to embrace forgiveness and love, and he never stopped fighting for freedom and equality for each and every South African.

I read quotes from some of his speeches, I look at iconic pictures of him, and I wish him Godspeed. The majority of his life was spent tirelessly working for the people of South Africa; at 95 years old the man is due his rest.

In his life he united us, and even still in death.

RIP Mr Mandela.

G

Nelson Rolihlahla Mandela 18 July 1918 - 5 December 2013
Nelson Rolihlahla Mandela
18 July 1918 – 5 December 2013
Leave a Reply

