#nofilterday

I don’t have Instagram, but I do have picture apps on my phone that I use to make my pictures ‘pretty’. A few days ago, The Blessed Barrenness and cupcakemummy challenged everyone to #nofilterday today, the 1st of November.

So, I was brave and posted (to my twitter feed) the following 3 pictures. Man, I really do love filters… But, I appreciate this #nofilterday as it’s raw and honest. I don’t live a perfect life, not that I’ve ever said that I do, but I do not wake up looking like a princess; I’m pretty scary looking at 04h30 in the morning, as I think most would be! 🙂 I’m not a real make-up person; I prefer the natural look and wearing comfy clothes. I don’t do my hair every day; I washed and blow dried my hair yesterday so today it got tied into a ponytail and twirled into a bun with some flower clips. I only wear my contacts for special occasions like road races (running) or functions so glasses it is and absolutely no make up 🙂 It’s funny how exposed I feel with these pictures; even though I don’t put a lot of effort into my daily look, I certainly look a lot better at 08h00 than I do at 04h30 🙂

No, #nofilter day isn’t going to cure world hunger, or stop wars or conflict, but it does give people a ‘break’ and the chance to have a giggle, and the ability to allow others a glimpse into their not so perfect lives.

I'm such a bad mommy...
I’m such a bad mommy…
At least the washing is sorted into piles I 'spose...
At least the washing is sorted into piles I ‘spose…
No, not the prettiest flower in the box...  Post shower, unbrushed hair, puffy eyes.  Adorable.
No, not the prettiest flower in the box… Post shower, unbrushed hair, puffy eyes. Adorable.
I flipping hate selfies!  But it's now 09h45 and I look a bit more 'human' ;)
I flipping hate selfies! But it’s now 09h45 and I look a bit more ‘human’ 😉

4 thoughts on “#nofilterday

Leave a Reply

