play is the new play

Today the Daily Prompt has basically given us a blank canvas.

Click over to your favorite blog, and pick out the 4th and 14th words (that aren’t “the” or “an”). Drop them into this phrase:

“_____ is the new _____.”

There’s your post title. Now write!

Now generally blank canvas’ scare the living daylights out of me, normally for 2 reasons:

1.) I am the worlds worst artist
2.) I have an amazing imagination, that generally needs to be prodded along with a hot poker iron stick thing

Anyway, I clicked over to one of my favourite blogger’s sites, and chose the following post to create my title. And you know what; I love the title of this post 🙂

I watch my daughter play, and I think to myself why can’t we as adults, play so innocently and sweetly as she does? Don’t get me wrong; her toys are sometimes naughty and they get tossed around the room, or even put into the naughty corner, but generally it is just happy-go-lucky playing or reading or colouring in or just having fun.

She doesn’t mind going outside without shoes on, and feeling the mud squelch between her toes. I on the other hand, refuse point blank to walk around outside, and most days even inside, without shoes on. She loves playing in the sand and dirt, and doesn’t mind the black lines under her nails. I freak out when I have a single, minuscule piece of dirt under my nail, that when I try and remove it, it smears under my nail, and then I’m left in a total panic. Bathroom run! My daughter loves playing with make-up, and even though she has no idea that eye shadow is supposed to go on your eyelids and not on your cheeks, she doesn’t care, ’cause she “looks pretty mommy”. I’ve found lipgloss on her hands, clothes, her EYELIDS and even in her hair. And I took a photo every single time.

Moments like those, innocent, sweet, happy moments like those won’t be happening when she’s 12, 15, 18, 20, 28, 35 etc. It’s so cliched to even type this, but it’s so true when someone says ‘you’ll only be 10 once – enjoy it!’. She’ll only be my sweet little angel, princess-pie for a few more years, and then she’ll most likely turn into a PMS swinging, angst induced tween-come-teen that can’t stand the sight of me, let alone a cuddle and kiss.

So I’m going to let her run around with her hair all wild, shoes off and jersey flung to the ground, because after all;

Play is the new play.

G

12 thoughts on “play is the new play

  1. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Time is the New Jackass | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  2. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Grandmother is the new Kid. | My Atheist Blog

  3. Pingback: Seventh is the New King | Anniemation Floe

  4. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Color is the new expression | Processing the life

  5. Pingback: Poverty’s Streets are the new Manhattan #poetry #photography | Moondustwriter's Blog

  6. Pingback: Google is the new between….um yeah thanks Daily Prompt | Life as a country bumpkin...not a city girl

  7. Pingback: Just Leave Me a Clone! part one: Rob is the New Rob | Rob's Surf Report

  8. Pingback: (Whatever) Is The New (Whatever) | Edward Hotspur

  9. Pingback: Blank |

  10. Pingback: Clean is the New Way | Manresa, Maine

Leave a Reply

