i don’t do scary

I know that yesterday I said that I would be taking a hiatus of sorts, however when I saw today’s Daily Prompt: Fright Night, I couldn’t resist it. I just had to post.

I posted a review a few months back about World War Z, the latest Brad Pitt movie about all too real zombies and I aptly named the post “world war wtf?!”. Have you seen that movie? Well I watched most of it through my fingers, so I suppose I can say that I ‘saw’ it. My mom watched the movie whilst gripping my right arm. It still hasn’t fully recovered, and it’s been almost 2 months. Why don’t I do scary you may ask? Well, just off the top of my head… I enjoy sleeping at night. When I’m of course not suffering from insomnia. Which is most nights. But on the odd occasion that I do get to sleep, I prefer it if my imagination wasn’t making that oh-so-innocent shadow look like a serial-killer-zombie there to carve out my brains with his finger nails.

I also don’t do surprises, and I think it may link back to the scared factor. I think it may also have something to do with the fact that I’m a ‘bit’ of a control freak; I knew about my surprise sweet 16 birthday party before most of the invitees did. In fact, when I find out that there’s some sort of surprise waiting for me, I pout and get all attitudinal, like a true immature adolescent, and pretty much refuse to participate in anything until I know what the surprise is.

www.artsfuse.org
http://www.artsfuse.org
My mother’s day present last year was the Adele cd; I managed to get it out of my hubby a week before mother’s day and he refused to give it to me until mother’s day, but I still got it out of him. My hubby bought me GTA 5 3-4 weekends ago; he tried so hard to keep it a secret but I found the xbox cover underneath his drivers seat in the car. See, even my subconscious doesn’t like surprises 😉 I can’t even read a scary book, whether it be fiction or non-fiction. Stephen King books; do you know me at all?! I know that the man is a literary genius, I simply cannot read his books or watch his movies. Again, I like my uninterrupted sleep. Well my sleep is always interrupted, but I do prefer it not being because of a knife wielding serial killer visiting me in my dreams, thanks.
www.community.us.playstation.com
http://www.community.us.playstation.com

My husband LOVES scary movies; he generally sits back and laughs that whole way through. No, we don’t watch a lot of movies together. I got scared during Scary Movie. Yes, I really did… I have always been a weenie as I so honestly call myself; I scare far too easily (ask my boss, it’s like a running joke between us now) and I just do not like the feeling of fear coursing through my veins.

So no, I don’t do scary.

G

PS: hey mom, next time you win tickets to a movie, please ensure that you get a synopsis BEFORE the movie, not during 😉

9 thoughts on “i don’t do scary

  1. Pingback: Frightening!!! | Life as a country bumpkin...not a city girl

  2. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Fright Night | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  3. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Fright Night | Eccentric Lady

  4. Pingback: Yiiikess!!! | A mom's blog

  5. Pingback: Scare-raising: it’s not just for anyone anymore! | Rob's Surf Report

  6. Pingback: Yes, that is frightening! | Processing the life

Leave a Reply

