peas and carrots

“My Mama always said, life was like a box of chocolates; you never know what you’re gonna get.” ~ Forrest Gump

I’m 27 years old, and going nowhere fast. He offered me everything that any sane gal would want; stability, financial security, a loving home and himself. His pure, untainted heart that loves only me. But I said no. I left. I ran in the opposite direction to his open arms. And now here I sit, starving, drugged up, depressed, unsure of my life, and so far away from the one person in my life that I have always been able to depend on. The drugs are no longer filling the void in my heart; the hole gets bigger every day and pretty soon I’ll have nothing left to give to this life.

He told me once that even though he was not a smart man, he knew what love was. I had turned down his proposal of marriage, not because of him, but because of me. We didn’t fit; he deserved better. The look of hurt in his eyes is what keeps me awake at night.

He always did say that we were like peas and carrots; meant to be.

Peas & Carrots ~ cinema.theiapolis.com
Peas & Carrots ~ cinema.theiapolis.com

This fictional piece of writing was written in response to the 9/22/2013 Writing challenge. What if you were a movie character?

3 thoughts on “peas and carrots

  1. Pingback: Update on the What if challenge? Week 4 | Okay, what if ?

Leave a Reply

