the warmth within

Warmth
Warmth

I hear the crackle of the wood
Protesting against the flames
I hear the walls of my house
Shift back into balance

I feel the warmth of the fire
Heating my cold bones
I feel the heat of the flames
Against my weary legs

I taste the ash lingering in the air
The bitterness is unnerving
I taste the wood smoke around me
And it envelops me into a hug

I smell pungent smoke
It’s warning me that it’s close
I smell the cotton burning
But I don’t know from where

I see
Nothing

This post was written in response to the Daily Prompt: Sensitive

One thought on “the warmth within

  1. Pingback: Senseless | Edward Hotspur

Leave a Reply

