it all comes right back around

“But I don’t understand? I did everything right. Didn’t I?” The pity in my own voice sickens even me.

“It is just not working out. It is as simple as that.” The lack of emotion in her voice sends a shiver down my spine.

“But I have given you three years of my life. I have dedicated family time, me time, TIME to this company and more specifically you that I can never get back. I was working towards a goal. A goal that you laid out for me. And what, now that I have achieved the goal, now that the task is completed, I’m no longer needed? No longer useful?” I am in utter shock. I cannot comprehend what is unfolding right in front of me.

“Well, I’m not going to lie to you. Yes, that’s exactly why it’s not working out. The task is completed. And when I present the project to the board next week, I will be the one who is credited, and ultimately promoted. Me. If you didn’t see this coming, it just shows how damn naïve you really are.” And with a flick of her hair, she leaves my office.

I slump into my chair, flabbergasted. I did not see this coming. I thought that the two of us were a team. We both worked well into many nights, forsaking our weekends for our work, although I must admit that I was rather jealous of her three holidays that she took last year, as well as the two that she’s already planned for this year. Oh, I almost forgot the holiday that she’s just come back from. She told me that I have to be off of the company premises in thirty minutes. Thirty minutes to pack up three years of hard work and dedication. I don’t think that I can do it; my heart is so close to shattering. I raise my head from my desk; I still have my computer access. I check my watch; I have fifteen minutes before I have to leave. More than enough time.

“Stef, did you hear about Miranda?” Sophie asks me three weeks later over a couple of lazy afternoon cocktails.

“Yes, I was so shocked when I found out!” I reply, a look of fake surprise on my face.

Miranda didn’t know that I knew about her and the CEO. Miranda also didn’t check the presentation over before submitting it to the board. It’s amazing what happens when someone ‘accidentally’ leaves their web cam on. And it’s even more amazing what one can do with just 15 minutes.

And yes, I am quite enjoying my promoted role within the company, as well as its ‘perks’.

This fictional piece of writing, was written in reply to the Weekly Writing Challenge: Dialogue

7 thoughts on “it all comes right back around

  1. Pingback: Hourglass | raggykate

  2. Pingback: Weekly Writing Challenge: Dialogue | My Atheist Blog

  3. Pingback: Weekly Writing Challenge: Dialogue | Joe's Musings

  4. Pingback: I, myself and the little voices in my head discuss an article on ‘Working Mothers’… | 3rdculturechildren

  5. Pingback: Getting to school | A mom's blog

Leave a Reply

