i would like another baby please

Those 6 words sum it all up for me.

I would like another baby please. Boy or girl, tall or short, I really don’t care. I hold my almost 1 month old nephew and my heart aches to hold my own little person. My current little person is almost 4, and she doesn’t quite fit into my arms for a gentle cuddle; it’s more like a gale force knock to my chest, a foot in my mouth, and an accidental slap to my cheek. And then a gorgeous, full toothed smile and my heart melts.

Ever since I can remember, I have wanted 2 children. My first was unplanned (oops) but never a mistake. She has just completed my life. I would be the shadow of the person that I am today if she weren’t in my life. I have bags upon bags of baby clothes all packed away from M-L, waiting to be used again. I told my husband that we need to make a final decision regarding a second child, as I refuse to let those clothes sit in bags for years and years and years, be eaten by moths and then ultimately thrown away. If we have not decided that we will start planning addition number 2 by the end of this year, I am donating all of those baby clothes to charity. I’m not going to resell them to the second hand store; there are parents out there with nothing; children out there with nothing and if I can help keep a little baby warm for a few months with some ‘new’ clothes, then so be it.

But I really would like another baby please.

G

This post was written in response to the Daily Prompt: Six of One, Half a Dozen of the Other

10 thoughts on “i would like another baby please

  1. Pingback: Just six words? | Life & Times

  2. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Six of One, Half a Dozen of the Other | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  3. reinventionofmama

    Me too, me too! I held a new baby this weekend and asked my husband for the hundredth time, “Just one more?” hoping that this time he’d pause. He did. My heart leapt! Then he said, “I thought we’ve already made our decision on this.” Plummet, crash, squash and splat.

    Like

  4. Pingback: Where will we be going next? | A mom's blog

  5. Pingback: The Time is Now, Dear Friends | The Silver Leaf Journal

  6. Pingback: Does six of one really equal half a dozen of the other? | Rob's Surf Report

Leave a Reply

