mi(ley)nding the gap

I didn’t watch the VMA‘s whenever they were on. I didn’t see the performance by Miley Cyrus and Robin Thicke that got everyone talking. Yes, I have seen a couple pictures, and I remember looking at the pictures, thinking to myself, okaaaaay. Not quite sure what she was trying to achieve with that look and those moves, but if it was publicity she was looking for, she sure as hell achieved that with 5 stars! You’ve heard the saying, there’s no bad publicity. When were the VMA’s? Almost 2 weeks ago? Ok, let me google it quickly, give me 2 secs…

Ok they aired on the 25th of August, which is just over 2 weeks ago. And guess what… People are still tweeting about it, facebooking about it, sending links to the video about it, I mean c’mon – the girl is a PRO (public relations officer)’s dream!

Still trying to figure out what Miley was trying to taste...
Still trying to figure out what Miley was trying to taste…
Whatever PRO Miley has hired, is being paid to almost do nothing – Miley is basically doing her own PR work. I would love to know what was going through her head when she thought to wear that nude-ish bikini attempt, and place her hair (what’s left of it) into those little bobble-horn things, and gyrate her hips in that manner, but quite honestly, I don’t really care. How does this performance affect me? Well, it doesn’t. Granted, I certainly don’t want my daughter watching something like that, but the VMA’s are for the more mature audience, at least in my little opinion. I am slightly uncomfortable with the fact that Miley at 20 years old, was gyrating her backside into the crotch of 36 year old Robin, but hey, they are both of legal age.

Yes, I can’t believe that this is the same pretty girl that played Hannah Montana, and had me giggling on my couch as she made her way through her double life, as now I sit on my couch with my mouth agape, almost on the floor.

But seriously, I have way more important, stressful things to think and worry about, other than another somebody else’s daughter who is finding out who she is.

I have a Jake & the Neverland Pirates party to plan for my almost 4 year old – now that’s insanity!

G

This post was written in response to the Weekly Writing Challenge

Leave a Reply

