a smurftastic time!

Yesterday, through MNet Movies, I was able to take my daughter to see her very first cinema movie, The Smurfs 2. In preparation for the movie, we watched The Smurfs on Saturday as she hadn’t seen it before, and after she lost interest after the first 15 or so minutes, I didn’t hold out much hope! And plus, it is always a worry taking a small child to the cinema, as you never quite know how they’re going to react. Plus this screening was in 3D which I only found out about once I got to the cinema, and I had no idea how she was going to react to having glasses on her face for almost 2 hours!

Well, she loved it! I think that she loved the whole adventure of the cinema, sitting in a big chair, eating a mountain of popcorn and having a ‘big’ cool drink, but she loved it. She was asking me questions about the movie, who the characters were, and she absolutely loved Gargamel, played by Hank Azaria, and that’s a big deal for an almost 4 year old!

Gargamel the Great (more like the idiotic)
Gargamel the Great (more like the idiotic)
Hank Azaria is so multi-talented; from one of my favourite movies The Birdcage, to his role on The Simpsons, he really is a brilliant actor. Azrael, Gargamel’s cat stole the show for me. I wish I had a cat like that – the ‘conversations’ that the 2 of them had were so cute and funny, I could not help but giggle. Gargamel really is an idiot, and Azrael the brains behind the operation!
Azrael - the brains behind Gargamel's hairbrained schemes
Azrael – the brains behind Gargamel’s hairbrained schemes

And just a little tidbit; no girl has ever screamed in the pitch that Gargamel does. EVER.

This movie introduced us to 2 new Smurfs, Hackus and Vexy, the ‘Naughties’. They were created by Gargamel, as was Smurfette, many years ago. Smurfette battles with the fact that Gargamel is in essence, her father, and even though Papa Smurf has taken her in, and shown her the Smurf ways, she still questions as to whether or not she does actually belong in the Smurf village.

Vexy, Smurfette & Hackus celebrating Smurfette's birthday
Vexy, Smurfette & Hackus celebrating Smurfette’s birthday
The same goes for Patrick Winslow, played by Neil Patrick Harris, who blames everyone but himself for the issues in his life. What I, as an adult really appreciated and took away from this movie, was the fantastic moral in it; it doesn’t matter where you’ve come from, but who you chose to be. Anyone can give someone life, but it takes someone so special to love someone, a child for example, that isn’t theirs by blood, and treat them as if they were their blood.

I was so happy to see that the entire cast from the first Smurfs movie returned; my opinion is that if you’re going to do a sequel, you have to have the original cast! I loved the fact that Brendan Gleeson was in this sequel; you might remember him from the Harry Potter movies as Mad Eye Moody – he looks far more appealing in this movie, even as a duck 😉 He added the heartfelt, genuine feel to the movie; a man trying too hard, but with his heart always in the right place.

Hank Azaria (Gargamel), Neil Patrick Harris (Patrick) & Katy Perry (Smurfette)
Hank Azaria (Gargamel), Neil Patrick Harris (Patrick) & Katy Perry (Smurfette)
I really did think that the entire cast just worked so well together; there was a definite togetherness that I felt 🙂 And Neil Patrick Harris plays an uptight, it’s-not-my-fault Patrick so very well 😉

There is something that I do after every movie, and it may sound a little weird to some, but I always wait for the credits to finish rolling. Not just to see if there are any sneaky scenes right at the end, but to also see who was involved in the putting together of the film. Yesterday I learnt that Jonathan Winters,

Jonathan Winters (Papa Smurf)
Jonathan Winters (Papa Smurf)
the voice of Papa Smurf is no longer with us, and it just made the movie all that more special. Papa Smurf is the glue of the Smurfs; he holds everyone together. Throughout both Smurf movies, whenever Papa Smurf spoke, I felt calm, almost peaceful. And it was all thanks to Jonathan Winters, whose voice gave Papa Smurf ‘life’.

So in the very wise words of Papa Smurf :

“It doesn’t matter where you’ve come from, but who you chose to be.”

G

P.S. : I give The Smurfs 2 a 3 out of 5 on the G rating – a very cute movie with a good moral story 🙂

P.P.S. : Some wise words from Jonathan Winters ~

“If your ship doesn’t come in, swim out to meet it.”
“I couldn’t wait for success, so I went ahead without it.”
“Nothing is impossible. Some things are just less likely than others.”

Leave a Reply

