the accidental parent award

You are receiving an award –- either one that already exists, or a new one created just for you. What would the award be, why are you being honored, and what would you say in your acceptance speech?

You mean her head doesn’t go there?! Hmmm, that actually makes sense.

I am highly honoured to be the first recipient of this award, as falling pregnant at 22 was definitely an accident, and every experience since that day has been nothing short of accidental-on-purpose insanity.

We learn through our mistakes I’ve been told. Well believe me; I’ll never again travel without at least 10 burping cloths, because by the time you reach your destination, you will have used up at least 9 of them. I’ve learnt that you can NEVER pack too many nappies, or bottles, and that you must never EVER leave the house without Barney, Dora or SpongeBob. Unless you enjoy listening to the baby sound track that is screaming, on level 42.

I’ve learnt that 9 times out of 10, that smell is actually coming from my child, or that the ‘chocolate’ on her hands isn’t actually chocolate. I’ve also learnt that just because she liked the pumpkin yesterday, is not a guarantee that she’ll like it today. I’ve also learnt that even though I wrestled her for her filthy dirty Disney princess blanket 2 days ago (that her is “favouritist in the whole world mommy!”) so that I could wash it, I’m going to have to go through the exact same thing in a week’s time, when it’s time to wash her Winnie-the-Pooh blanket (“but it’s my favouritist in the whole world mommy!”)

I have learnt that giving my daughter a packet of sweets so that she would settle down whilst watching a movie at 18h00 is not the wisest move, as bedtime is then all fun and games, until mommy loses it and then it’s tears and sadness. I have also learnt that giving my daughter a packet of sweets whilst in a busy shopping centre distracts her so completely, that I can get in and out in less than 10 minutes, without having to buy her the Barbie house, and make-up play set and new bicycle.

I have learnt how to carry my child even when she doesn’t want to be carried. I’ve discovered that the fireman’s lift is the most effective, especially if she’s kicking. I’ve also discovered how to end a tantrum in a shopping centre; simply walk away. It has yet to fail me. Although one of these days, she won’t come running after me all apologetic, and I’ll be the one running after her. I’m not looking forward to that day.

I’ve also learnt where to buy the cheap knock-offs of really expensive things, so that it doesn’t cost me an arm, leg and a kidney or 3 to replace something that she’s ‘accidentally’ broken.

However, during this period of my life that I stumbled upon quite accidentally “it would never happen to me” I have also learnt the deepest, truest, purest form of love, and that is the love that my daughter and I share for each other.

I am an accidental parent, but I love my daughter on purpose, and with everything that I am.

G

I love you on purpose
I love you on purpose
Leave a Reply

