i’m a past pupil, less of the ‘old girl’ please!

This year marks the tenth year that I have been out of school. It is absolutely insane at how fast these last 10 years have flown by; it seems like just yesterday I was walking through the gates of Danville Park Girls’ High School for the very first time, nervous and scared, and totally unsure of myself.

On Saturday, we held our 10 year reunion, and it was just so incredible to see girls (now ladies) again that I hadn’t seen since our last exams back in 2003! Some of them I had kept in touch with, but most of them not. In our matric year, everyone seemed to know everyone, even if we weren’t all the best of friends.

The day started off with a sports morning; Old Girls vs Current Girls. Oh. My. God. The last time that I picked up a hockey stick was 10 years ago in matric; I have only played netball socially and have never played soccer before ever!

Hockey time!
Hockey time!
Needless to say, we lost the hockey (2-6) and the netball (4-26) but won the soccer (1-0) in a penalty shoot out. It was just too hilarious that we lost the 2 sports that were offered when we were at Danville, but won the 1 sport that wasn’t yet offered when we were there!
Action on the netball court :)
Action on the netball court ๐Ÿ™‚

We spent so much time laughing, giggling, holding our tummies laughing, kneeling on the floor laughing so much, shouting, screaming, and pulling the ‘old girl’ card, that I wouldn’t hesitate to do something like it again. We were so happily useless, that in the 2nd half of the hockey, we pulled all 12 of the playing old girls onto the field (you’re only allowed 6) and that’s how we managed to score our 2 goals! We had the right amount of players in the netball, but kept subbing (I was the first after a rather nasty fall :() and we still managed to lose that game, but the soccer was where we all had the most fun.

V I C, V I C, V I C T O R Y!  Victory Victory is our cry, V I C T O R Y! Old Girls!
V I C, V I C, V I C T O R Y! Victory Victory is our cry, V I C T O R Y! Old Girls!
Again, we had every single one of our players vs their team, and I even kicked the ball away a few times! It was just such an amazingly memorable morning ๐Ÿ™‚

There was then an afternoon tea that started at 14h00, and that was for the girls that matriculated in 1973, 1983, 1993 and then 2003. I’ll have you know that the 2003 represented the most ๐Ÿ™‚

Some of the girls from the 2003 matric class
Some of the girls from the 2003 matric class
It was great to see some of my former teachers, and get to know new teachers, as well as the new girls who will be entering matric next year. It really does seem like just yesterday that it was me. Later that evening was a private supper held just for the 2003 matriculants, and it really was great to just sit back and relax, eat some damn good food, drink some lovely champagne and just catch up. It’s absolutely amazing to find out what all of my classmates have been up to, what they have done and what they’re doing now. Hopefully it won’t be another 10 years before we all see each other again, but the sad reality is that for most of us, it will be.

But seriously, less of the old girl please! ๐Ÿ˜‰

G

Old Girls vs New Girls hockey
Old Girls vs New Girls hockey
Leave a Reply

