feeling the heat

I love Sandra Bullock. Love her. The woman is a comedic genius, well at least in my little opinion 😉 So when I was given tickets to go and see her latest comedy The Heat through MNet Movies I was as happy as a 4 year old with a bowl full of smarties. Yes. That happy.

Sandra Bullock
Sandra Bullock
There is something about Sandra’s acting; her comedic timing, her beautiful face, the way she gets into her characters. She plays frenetic so well eg : Speed, The Net etc. Yes ok, a few of her movies have flopped, ie : Speed 2 : Cruise Control ((which incidentally isn’t even listed on her Wikipedia page – oops!!) – ok it is, but riiiiight at the bottom) and Miss Congeniality 2 : Armed and Fabulous ((also not mentioned on her Wikipedia page – Sandy, stay away from the sequels!) – and again it is, but again riiiiight at the bottom!) But despite these flops, she comes back bigger, better and funnier! I loved her in The Blind Side for which she won the Academy Award for Best Performance by an Actress in a Leading role in 2010. This role showed her serious side, and I think that this is when Hollywood turned around and realised that she is not some ditz of an actress who gets away with silly comedies; this woman is a serious actress. Another serious yet comedic film that I love of hers, is The Proposal and I mean hello – Ryan Reynolds?! Say no more 😉 But I think that my favourite Sandy movie of all time, is 28 days. No wait, Practical Magic… Ok ok! Let me actually write about The Heat now 🙂

The movie opened with a’ 70’s feel to it, and I was like noooo! I can’t do a ’70’s cop movie! And honestly, I was a little apprehensive about watching this movie, as it’s other leading lady is Melissa McCarthy and as much as I know that Bridesmaids isn’t her only movie, that is all I can picture her in. And I hated Bridesmaids. Hated it. Was actually disgusted by it. Yes, my friends do believe that there is something wrong with me. Female version of The Hangover – whatever!

Melissa McCarthy
Melissa McCarthy
I must admit that it did take me a little while to actually like Melissa’s character Shannon in the movie; rough around the edges is an understatement. She wasn’t just rough around the edges, she was just rough! Sandra’s character Sarah was, well how do I put this delicately… An anal retentive, egotistical, bossy cow. So yes, these 2 characters clashed from the beginning. I will admit that I was giggling and laughing for most of the movie; the words that came out of Shannon’s mouth, and her hand gestures were damn hilarious. And as for Sarah? Well once she finally dislodged the carrot from her rear end, she found herself. And I couldn’t stop laughing.
I think we made a boo-boo
I think we made a boo-boo

And duuuuude – do NOT complain about your family, EVER. I have never seen such disorganised chaos, anger, frustration, swearing, love and huh?! in a family before. Trust me; your family is perfectly normal. Shannon’s family; not so much. Let me give you a reason as to why they dislike her just a tad… She put her brother in jail. Feel the love baby, feel the love. Family is a key factor in this movie; it is amazing as to what we wouldn’t do for our family.

"What are those?!" "Those are my spanks;  they hold everything in." "What is there to hold in?!  Oh, like medically?"
“What are those?!”
“Those are my spanks; they hold everything in.”
“What is there to hold in?! Oh, like medically?”
I honestly did enjoy this movie; it was just the comedy that I needed to see. I was able to sit back and enjoy it, I didn’t have to use too much brain power to understand it (which I’m still trying to decide as to whether or not that’s a bad thing) and the villain in the movie (for a change) was such a surprise! I did not see it coming, and I must admit that I am pretty good at figuring out a movie plot line ie : who the bad guys are, who ends up with who etc. What I also liked about this movie is that there was very minimal romance in it; it was a movie about 2 women taking down the bad guys and kicking butt along the way. Oh, groins also get shot at. Male groins. Yes, it did look painful. And yes, I laughed. Very, very hard. And yes again, that was a pun 😉
The leading ladies
The leading ladies

So Sandy, you’ve done it again 🙂 This is a comedy that I will happily go out and buy on DVD once it is released. Thoroughly enjoyable, well written story line and plot, and brilliant acting, believe it or not from the Bridesmaids disaster, Melissa McCarthy. Sandy I love you, but I think the Melissa outshone you on this one 🙂

I happily give it a 3.5 out of 5 on my G rating – you will not be burned – go and watch The Heat.

G

Leave a Reply

