making cupcakes

My daughter woke up this morning and announced that she wanted to make cupcakes. At 06h30 in the morning, that wasn’t going to happen, but I classify myself as a bit of a lazy mom, I did just so happen to have 2 cupcake mix boxes in my cupboard 🙂 She’s been with her Nana this week as she was ill, and the doctor said that she had to stay off crèche for the whole week (my mom is a true lifesaver) and so I said that she could take 1 of the boxes to her Nana’s house to make cupcakes.

The 2nd best part - licking the beaters!
The 2nd best part – licking the beaters!

These box cupcake mixes are awesome; all you have to have in stock is milk, oil and eggs, and you’re good to go. The rest of the dry ingredients are in the box, as well as the decorations and cupcake holder paper thingies. I know, I’m so descriptive 😉 My daughter then stood in our bedroom, with her Barbie cupcake mix box in her hands, and then told her dad and me that she just needs milk, oil & eggs to make her cupcakes. I just stood there. Hubby looked at me with this grin; I was dumbstruck. How does my ‘almost 4 year old’ know that?! We have only baked twice (using the boxes, duh) and I did most of the work, obviously. I just couldn’t believe it. Well, maybe the 1 time she made those box cupcakes with her Nana she figured it out, but who knows!

Just helping to taste the icing, that's all... :)
Just helping to taste the icing, that’s all… 🙂

I am not the most domesticated person, mostly because I chose not to be, but there’s something about the twinkle in her eye when she asks to make cupcakes that I can’t resist 🙂 And she gets fully involved; I do the mixing, but she helps to ice the cupcakes, decorate them, and then of course eat them 😉

So princess-pie, have fun baking cupcakes today with your Nana – rather her than me!

Nana and the princess-pie with their batch of 'box' cupcakes :)
Nana and the princess-pie with their batch of ‘box’ cupcakes 🙂

Mommy

Leave a Reply

