transformers for big people

Without going into too much detail, I was again lucky enough to be given tickets to see the pre-release screening of Pacific Rim last night through MNet Movies.

Unlike last week during the screening of World War Z where I was extremely grateful that it WASN’T in 3D, last night’s screening was. Holy smoked bananas. I have seen a few 3D movies before, but haven’t really thought much of them, but WOW-WEE. There is only one way to watch Pacific Rim, and that is in 3D. This was however my mom’s first ever movie in 3D – my arm survived her grip this time; the cinema chair arm rests, not so much. There were several times during the film that I thought she might wet herself due to the Kaiju coming out of the screen to eat her. Yeah, I giggled too.

Gipsy - the most badass Jaeger of them all
Gipsy – the most badass Jaeger of them all
What I liked about this movie, is that the initial story was not something I’d personally seen in a film before. 2 brothers, connected neurologically via technology, controlling a Jaeger, a huge robot designed with 1 purpose, and 1 purpose only; to find and destroy the Kaiju. Every Jaeger is piloted by 2 pilots joined by the ‘neural bridge’. Each pilot is in the other pilot’s head. Imagine what a surviving pilot goes through when / if the other pilot is killed. The neural bridge is only as strong as the bond between pilots, so brothers, sisters, siblings, parents are mostly used to pilot them. But every now and then, another strong bond is found…

How to describe a Kaiju? Dinosaurs on steroids. Really badass steroids. The very first Kaiju I saw, seriously looked like a hammerhead shark, crossed with a t-rex, crossed with a lizard. An ugly lizard. A scary lizard. A lizard that has UV blood. I’ve heard of royal blood, blue blood, red blood even white blood. But UV blood?! That was pretty damn cool.

1 of the rather scary looking Kaiju
1 of the rather scary looking Kaiju
Every single Kaiju is given a code name and category as they arise out the interdimensional portal at the bottom of the Pacific Ocean, thus the name, Pacific Rim. Category 1-3; they’ll give you a run for your money, but you’re pretty much guaranteed a kill every time. Category 4 Kaiju are a little harder to kill; much more ferocious and hardcore. And then you get the category 5 Kaiju. Yeah, that’s when I would look at my co-pilot, and get my Jaeger and my ass outta there! The category 5 Kaiju also have this wonderful trait of evolution ie : they have learnt the defense mechanisms of the Jaegers. All of the Jaegers run on electricity, except for Gipsy. Gipsy is old school. Gipsy is a walking nuclear reactor…

Back to the strong bond required between the 2 pilots. As the Jaegers are powered by the bond, the stronger the bond, the more powerful the Jaeger. Raleigh Becket (Charlie Hunnam)

Sexiness in a suit baby
Sexiness in a suit baby
is the epitome of a broken man. A washed up Jaeger pilot, he is only 1 of 2 people to ever successfully pilot a Jaeger solo. Oh, did I mention that if you try and pilot a Jaeger solo, you die? No? Ok, well you do. Mako Mori (Rinko Kikuchi) is the epitome of a broken woman, however you don’t find out her sad story until about half way into the film. As a parent, my heart broke watching her story unfold, and I even had a tear or 3 in my eyes. That was some gut wrenching cinematography.
Dynamite comes in small packages - DO NOT underestimate Mako!
Dynamite comes in small packages – DO NOT underestimate Mako!

And what’s an end-of-the-world movie, without some comedy?! The sharp, witty comedic relief was provided by the 2 ‘scientists’ in the film; Dr Newton Geiszler (Charlie Day) and his side kick Dr Hermann Gottlieb (Burn Gorman), although I think Dr Gottlieb would say that ‘Newt’ is his side kick ๐Ÿ™‚ These two are forever arguing and trying to get 1 up on each other, in the most hilarious way. The one line that has stuck with me – Newt “Dr Gottlieb these are human beings; you might want to say hello.” That was the introduction to the two doctors, and it only got better after that. Newt also gets ‘deflowered’ by a Kaiju – watch the movie; you’ll be giggling like a schoolgirl on Valentine’s Day in that scene ๐Ÿ˜‰

Even Hellboy makes an appearance in this end-of-the-world film! Ok, not Hellboy himself, but the actor that played him, Ron Perlman. He brings dry wit, a spark of danger, and a giggle in all of the wrong moments! His shoes; if you go and watch this movie, take cognisance of his shoes. And stay until the credits are finished ๐Ÿ˜‰

This movie ended with a bit of an Armageddon feel to it; the father-daughter version, and a fresh take with a father-son version. I liked the ending; as predictable as it was, I liked it.

I really did enjoy this film; I specifically enjoyed not jumping out of my seat every 3 seconds in pure terror, and also watching the movie through 3D glasses, and not my fingers.

As for it’s G rating? I give it a 3.5 out of 5. And that’s just cause I can ๐Ÿ˜‰

G

Leave a Reply

