dear Axle (1 year on)

My darling 4 legged son

At 02h59 this morning, it was exactly 1 year since you left us.

Axle as a puppy with his 'brother' Sprocket
Axle as a puppy with his ‘brother’ Sprocket

I think about you every single day, more than once a day. The pain of your missing presence is still with me, and even more so with your dad. He misses you so much my boy. You better be taking care of Gato, Penny, Dotty, Chuck & Alice, because they need a big strong boy like you looking after them.

This past year has been hard. You left us so suddenly. Your dad was with you when you passed, and it broke his heart. I never got to say good-bye, and that broke my heart.

I miss your smile my boy
I miss your smile my boy

There are no words to describe how you filled our lives. You were our son, our handsome, wonderful, protective son. I remember when we had the home invasion, how you protected your dad when those criminals attacked him. Our big brave boy.

You and your dad;  you were his shadow
You and your dad; you were his shadow

I remember when we brought your sister home from the hospital, how apprehensive you were at this tiny, crying, pooping little ‘being’, and how after only a few days, you knew that she was a part of our family, and that you had to be gentle with her.

Oh we miss your snuggles and cuddles my boy. Well, I can’t really call them snuggles and cuddles, due to the fact that at 90kg odd, you pretty much took up all of the bed, but nothing even comes close you lying next to us.

Snuggles & cuddles with dad and his daughter Nandi (Axle's daughter)
Snuggles & cuddles with dad and his daughter Nandi (Axle’s daughter)

Axle, you were loved every single day of your 7.5 year life, and even still you are so loved my boy.

Keep watching over us my boy. Keep loving us my boy. Keep us safe my boy.

Love

Your mom

Leave a Reply

