getting pitch slapped

What is it about this movie? I rented it a few months ago from DStv’s Box Office, literally the day it was released for rental. I instantly fell in love. As the rental lasts for 48hrs, I think I watched it about 4-5 times, I lost count.

Let's get pitch slapped!
Let’s get pitch slapped!

After watching the film for the first time, I grabbed my iPad and Youtubed this amazing movie that just absolutely blew me away. Pitch Perfect just has something about it. And I for the life of me cannot put my finger on it.

It’s funny. Funny is an understatement. The star of the comedy? Fat Amy (Rebel Wilson). This phenomenal woman’s comedic timing is beyond amazing.

I'm horizontal running...
I’m horizontal running…

Fat Amy you may ask? “Yeah, so twig bitches like you don’t do it behind my back.” “Cardio? No, don’t put me down for that!” “I should have taken that cardio tip more seriously – how much have you done?! – you’ve just seen it!”

As much as the film is centred around Beca (Anna Kendrick) Fat Amy to me is the central figure. I mean c’mon; (Bumper to Fat Amy) “You are probably the grossest human being I’ve ever seen.” Fat Amy’s response? “Well, you’re no panty dropper yourself.” (Bumper to Fat Amy) “So I have a feeling that we should kiss. Is that feeling a good feeling or…” Fat Amy’s response “Well, I sometimes have a feeling I can do crystal meth, but then I think mmm, better not.”

One of the videos that I found on Youtube was an interview with the directors, producers and Rebel Wilson and it turned out that a lot of the comedy in the film, even though scripted, was just totally brought to life and in some circumstances, actually impromptu comedy by the actress!

I now have this movie on my laptop, and I feel that it completes me… No, it’s not that bad, but this movie is amazing! Yes, there are boys and girls singing, and it’s fantastic! Wonderfully choreographed, modern yes classic, and the music itself is soul defining.

Comedy, love, drama and music. Fantastic elements all brought together so phenomenally for one spectacular movie that I could watch over and over again. And I have. It will never get old or boring.

Keep calm Bella's!
Keep calm Bella’s!

And in the words of Fat Amy, Pitch Perfect will “pitch slap you so hard, your man boobs are going to concave.”

G

Leave a Reply

