world war wtf?!

My mom won tickets to go and see the preview of World War Z last night through MNet Movies.

Oh. My. God. (I am advising you NOW that I do not watch horror ANYTHING;  I am a weenie).

Now I’m not a film critic, but I felt that I absolutely had to blog about this movie.  My fear is worth a laugh…

Zombies.  Not exactly the friendliest of creatures, even more so when all they want to do is eat you.  The thing that scared me the most about this movie, was that it was so real.  There were no made up countries or organisations;  real countries and organisations were used.  The whole storyline was believable.  A believable zombie storyline.  Yeah, that keeps me warm at night.

I honestly had never heard of World War Z, let alone that it was a book before it was a movie.  Well, that is one book I will not be reading, purely because I am a weenie.

Oh look at the zombies trying to get over the really  high wall... OMFG run!!
Oh look at the zombies trying to get over the really high wall… OMFG run!!

Twice, or perhaps it was three times (I lost count) my mom and I contemplated leaving the cinema. She sat gripping my arm almost cutting off the blood flow a few times, and I watched at least 1/3 of the movie from behind my fingers. I was surprised that my glasses didn’t have finger marks all over them. I also put my neck out again from all of the jerking and jumping and screaming. (ok I didn’t scream… out loud…)

Gerry Lane (Brad Pitt) was so believable. All the stunts and actions that he had to perform were nothing out of the ordinary; from the CGI to the acting; everything was believable in this movie. The one character that I really enjoyed, was the Israeli female soldier Segen (Daniella Kertesz). Tough yet vulnerable, another very believable character. Brad Pitt also chops off her hand after she gets bitten by a zombie. Yep. Ouch.

Segen (Daniella Kertesz) - tough yet vulnerable.  Plus Brad Pitt chops off her hand.
Segen (Daniella Kertesz) – tough yet vulnerable. Plus Brad Pitt chops off her hand.

I know that this ‘review’ is probably one of the worst reviews that you’ve ever read, but I don’t actually know how to describe this film correctly! I am a weenie (as I keep admitting) but even though I was watching the movie through my hands, I couldn’t really stop watching. Ok, some scenes I just looked in the opposite direction as I actually enjoy sleeping at night, but this was a GOOD movie.

The movie was supposed to be in 3D; we were given our glasses beforehand, but at the last minute one of the cinema employees came through apologising, saying that it was actually going to be screened in 2D. THANK GOD.

At the end of the day, Brad Pitt just wanted to protect his family. And come on; what parent wouldn’t go to the ends of the earth to do that.

Protection
Protection

Well done Brad Pitt, well done. And as for the G rating? 3 of out 5 – and that’s just because I was so damn scared!

G

4 thoughts on “world war wtf?!

  1. Haha – I was too busy being a weenie and watching through my fingers to notice the poor script! But I must admit that the end was a bit like huh?! – especially after all of that action! Thanks for your comment 🙂

    Like

  2. Pingback: transformers for big people | wannabepoet

  3. Pingback: i don’t do scary | wannabepoet

Leave a Reply

