the ghosts in our lives

Italo Calvino said: The more enlightened our houses are, the more their walls ooze ghosts.

I look at this picture, and I think of a school house, back in the 1800’s.  A time where lessons were taught in the same classroom by the same teacher, day in and day out.  But what this picture also makes me think of, are the ghosts in my life.

Image credit: “love Don’t live here anymore…” – © 2009 Robb North – made available under Attribution 2.0 Generic

I have ghosts in my life;  I believe we all do.  Whether it’s the memory of bullying someone when we were younger, or the memory of being bullied ourselves, we all have ghosts.  I was both bullied and a bully, crazy huh.  A house can have walls and windows and doors, but without love, a house cannot be a home.  This is something that I too have learnt along the way.  Sad, but true.

Whether the ghosts in your life are memories or actual ghosts, the only way to move forward is to deal with them.  I apologised to a boy, who is now a man a few months ago, for bullying him whilst we were in primary school together.  I was teased and bullied verbally, and I bullied physically.  Me, this tiny stick insect of a girl, hitting and kicking boys.  Unreal hey.  But, after more than 14 years since we last saw each other, I apologised to him.  He had actually completely forgotten that I’d bullied him, and he laughed about it, however I felt like a weight had been lifted off of my shoulders, and I felt an ounce happier.

Never judge the person next to you, for you don’t know what ghosts are currently haunting them.

G

Leave a Reply

