i ran 10km

I did I tell you! I ran it, and I completed it! And even though I didn’t make my goal of running it in under 1 hour, I still bettered my time from last year, and I gained about 100 positions from last year as well.

My love for running has really reignited; I have entered a 10km road race on the 7th of July, as well as another 10km road race on the 21st of July. I will eventually enter myself into a half marathon, 42.2km as this will enable me to qualify for the Comrades Marathon, which is my ultimate goal. I of course have to finish the half marathon in a allotted amount of time, and that in itself will be a challenge.

I had a wonderful time on Sunday at the Spar Ladies 10km Challenge; my mom and daughter accompanied me, and it was such a wonderful feeling knowing that when I crossed that finish line, that they would be there waiting for me.

My daughter and I at the end of the Spar Ladies 10km Challenge
My daughter and I at the end of the Spar Ladies 10km Challenge

My mom has bravely said that she will accompany me on my next 2 10km races; the race in 2 weekends time starts at 07h00… That means a wake up for me at 05h00, fetch my mom at 05h30… I like to get to races early so that I can get a decent starting position.

I just find it so invigorating that even though I haven’t run in about 10 years, that my passion is still there, that the joy and satisfaction I feel after every run is still there.

You’re never too old to follow your passion.

G

5 thoughts on “i ran 10km

  1. Pingback: my first half marathon | wannabepoet

Leave a Reply

