working 2 jobs

Between the hours of 08h00-16h30, I am a secretary, Monday-Friday, excluding Public Holidays, and I even get 20 days of annual leave a year.  That is my first job.  My second job is a little more hardcore than that.

My second job sees me working 24hrs a day, 7 days a week, 365 days a year.  Yes, I am a parent, a mommy.  And being a parent, a mommy is a job.  It is tiring.  It is exhausting.  It is exhilarating.  It’s happiness in a hug.  It’s love in a kiss.  And the reward of this job?  The payment of this job?  Seeing my daughter growing from a helpless infant, to an inquisitive toddler, to a cheeky, stubborn little girl and beyond.  Her mind is hungry for whatever she can lay her eyes and hands on, and I no longer own white pants or a skirt.  My fellow parents will understand this completely.

Yes, being a parent is a full time job.  And there are some days when I stand there saying “Really?  No really?” and I want to curl into a little ball and cry my frustrations away.  But to see the spark in her eyes when she understands something, or to have a full blown conversation with her, and she totally understands everything that I’m saying, and more importantly, what SHE’S saying, just puts it all into perspective for me.  My absolute favourite, are her quiet times, not because she’s no longer running circles around me, but because she comes and curls up on my lap, and cuddles me, and in that brief time, all is right with the world.

There is nothing more healing that a child’s kiss, hug or laughter.

G

Leave a Reply

