The last real action star

Where is the next generation of action stars?!

I am 26 years old, and I have grown accustomed to movies made with Willis, Stathom, Van Damme, Lundgren, Stallone, Norris, Cage, etc and so on and so forth. The ‘men’ that are now portraying ‘heroes’ in the big budget Hollywood blockbusters, are weak, limp wristed noodles in my opinion. Hollywood, I believe, is relying too much on CGI and technology to bring in the numbers, instead of good old fashioned acting, and action.

Now don’t get me wrong; I love a good romantic comedy just like most women out there. But I absolutely love a kick ass action flick, with guns, and explosions, and fight scenes, and my best are car chase scenes, especially the really hardcore ones. The remake of Gone in 60 Seconds with Nicholas Cage…. Oh Eleanor!!! I love the realness of a good action movie; I detest CGI, and especially baaaaad CGI. And I believe that we’ve all seen our fair share of baaaaad CGI films.

What I see in the current, up and coming generation of ‘action stars’ are a bunch of actors who care more about their physique and looks, than what they’re actually being paid to do; act. Oh don’t get me wrong, it most certainly does help to have an easy on the eyes actor, and a decent six pack does it for me, but give me Chuck Norris, or Bruce Willis over any of these lily scented pretty boys any day. They are true action stars; they don’t care about dirt under their finger tips, or actually taking a punch to the jaw.

I recently was able to watch the Rocky movies and I was just blown away. The grit of the story; the simpleness of it all was just so breathtaking and wonderful. And the fight scenes; AMAZING. Movies are just not made like they used to be. Nowadays it’s all about the money, whereas in previous times, obviously one wanted to make money on a film, but all too often it was about getting the story out there, whether it was a true story or not.

Bring back the realness of the movies Hollywood! Tempt us to actually use our brains, and become so involved in a film that we talk about it for day’s, even weeks after we’ve seen it. And not just because Taylor Lautner took his shirt off. Again. For the 10th time. In the same scene.

G

One thought on “The last real action star

  1. Pingback: the expendables 3 | the hilarious pessimist

Leave a Reply

