Today’s technology – good, bad or a distraction?

I woke up this morning, to the very sad news that Neil Armstrong, the first man to have walked on the moon, had passed on after complications following heart surgery. First off, my condolences to his family and friends; may you pull through this trying time with your memories and thoughts of this extraordinary man.

My very next thoughts, were that with Mr Armstrong’s passing, really does come with it, the end of a truly extraordinary era. Earlier this year NASA flew its last space mission, and now this. Today’s generation do not appreciate what people like Neil Armstrong not only did for America, but for the rest of the world. Think about it – there had been a man in space, but no one had ever landed on and walked on the moon, and then came back to earth to tell their tale! Neil Armstrong was a pioneer for a new, technological era.

Today’s generation get their exercise by playing video games that simulate being outside, when the outside is just a few, breath taking steps away. I see young couples out on dates, with either 1 or both of them head down, into their smart phones. When I was a little girl, I was given a cardboard box, and a black marker and that kept me entertained for hours, if not the whole day! If I wanted to find out something, I actually opened a book (those things gathering dust that can sometimes smell a bit funky) and I did research. I know that I’m pretty much contradicting myself as I am currently sitting in my car, with my daughter asleep waiting for my mom to finish her shopping, typing this on my iPad, but there is too much technology, and not enough physical exploring and learning these days.

Our planet is changing daily, as we are being told daily. Enjoy it people – take a step outside WITHOUT your Blackberry, iPhone or smart phone, pull out your old camera that actually takes film and go and explore life!

I have learnt in recent months that life passes by far too quickly, and you know what, there really is no backspace or rewind button.

Dance like no one is watching. Sing like no one can hear you. And most of all, no one can make you feel inferior or incompetent without your permission. You are you – enjoy it, embrace it.

G

Leave a Reply

