Axle

Our 4 legged son

Our 4 legged son

Ah my son. My handsome, brown haired, 4 legged son. You were your daddy’s boy, but mommy loved/s you so much. These last 3 days without you have been utter torture.

You slept on (and in) our bed, always fun as you weighed 80kg odd, you had/have your own couch in our lounge and you always gave the most amazing loves, always leaving us with drool either smeared across or dripping down our cheeks.

You left so suddenly. You were happy and healthy, bouncing around our lounge, and in 4 hours, you were gone, forever. I have an ache in my heart, a hole in my gut, a lump in my throat, and silent tears keep rolling down my cheeks. I don’t understand it all. It’s said that you only realise what you had, when it’s gone. Axle my boy, that is so true. Our house is so quiet, feels so empty, so alone. Your presence is missing, and we’re hurting so deeply for that.

Axle, you were more than a dog, more than our pet. You were / are our son. You were / are a member of our family; we are broken and devastated with your passing. You were / are family. We love you so much my boy. So damn much.

Sleep well old man. Trying to imagine the rest of my life without you seems so impossible. Thank-you for the 7 and 1/2 years that we were privileged to spend with you.

Mommy and daddy love you so much my boy, and we will miss you for the rest of our lives. Not a day has gone by, nor will go by without you in our thoughts.

The 1 best place to bury a good dog is in the heart of his master – Ben Hur Lampman

Xx

Posted from WordPress for BlackBerry.

One thought on “Axle

  1. Pingback: dear Axle (1 year on) | wannabepoet

Leave a Reply

